Looking for car insurance in Rhode Island? NerdWallet has outlined what you need to know about Rhode Island’s insurance regulations before you buy.
What Do I Need to Know?
Under Rhode Island law, you are required to have two types of insurance: liability and uninsured motorist insurance. For each type, the state requires a minimum coverage of the following;
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury or death
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury or death (for multiple people)
- $25,000 per accident in property damage
You can be exempted from the uninsured motorist insurance if you pay for only the minimum requirements for liability insurance. Other insurance, such as personal injury protection (PIP), is not required but can still be a good investment. PIP, also known as “no-fault insurance”, covers you in the event that you are at fault in an accident. If you have a newer vehicle, it’s also a good idea to consider purchasing collision insurance and comprehensive insurance (the latter protecting against storm damage and vandalism).
How Can I Save Money on Car Insurance?
Driving Training Courses
If you’re a teenage or senior driver in Rhode Island, you could get a discount on your car insurance by simply completing a state-approved driving course online. Find out if your insurance provider offers a discount for participating in these programs.
In Rhode Island, most providers will give you a discount when you bundle your various insurance policies under one provider. This is also a great way to avoid paying for overlapping benefits. If you have different providers, ask if you can receive an additional discount for switching your insurance.
Good Student Discount
If you or anyone on your policy is under 25 and has a B average or better in school, you could save on your car insurance policy. You may need to provide proof of your grades to your insurance provider in the form of a report card or a letter signed by an administrator.
Good Driver/Renewal Discount
Insurance companies have an incentive to keep good customers. In Rhode Island, discounts can be given to drivers with clean driving records and those who renew with the same insurer.
Other Things to Consider
High Rate of Uninsured Motorists
In Rhode Island, 18% of the drivers are uninsured, according to a study by the Insurance Research Council. This is why it’s a good idea to hold on to your uninsured motorist insurance, even though state law allows you to decline it.
Insurance for High-Risk Drivers
Because insurance providers can turn people away for bad driving records, high-risk drivers may find it difficult to find coverage. If you can’t find an insurance provider, you can get covered under the Rhode Island Automobile Insurance Plan. Because this is an expensive option, it’s a good idea to look for better insurance options while you are working on improving your driving record.
Find the Best Car Insurance in Rhode Island
If you want more personalized car insurance quotes without having to sign up or sign in, you can use NerdWallet’s car insurance comparison tool.
Read More from NerdWallet: