BEST OF

Best Personal Loans of December 2022

Compare the best personal loans for good and bad credit, debt consolidation, home improvement and more.

Many or all of the products featured here are from our partners who compensate us. This may influence which products we write about and where and how the product appears on a page. However, this does not influence our evaluations. Our opinions are our own. Here is a list of our partners and here's how we make money.

Personal loans have fixed annual percentage rates, generally from 6% to 36%. The loan with the lowest rate is the least expensive — and usually the best choice. Other features, including no fees, soft credit checks and direct payments to creditors if you’re consolidating debt, set some loans apart.

We always recommend you know your credit score and compare personal loans from multiple lenders before making a choice. Here are our picks for the best personal loans:

Why trust NerdWallet? NerdWallet's editorial team has reviewed more than 35 personal loan providers and compared them to select the best personal loans. We chose these lenders based on features like star ratings, APR ranges, loan amounts and minimum required credit scores.

Best Personal Loans From Our Partners

Our pick for

Personal loans for credit card consolidation

Happy Money
Get rate

on Happy Money's website

Happy Money

4.5

NerdWallet rating 
Happy Money

Est. APR

7.99-29.99%

Loan amount

$5,000-$40,000

Min. credit score

640
Get rate

on Happy Money's website

Our pick for

Personal loans for good to excellent credit

SoFi
Get rate

on SoFi's website

SoFi

5.0

NerdWallet rating 
SoFi

Est. APR

7.99-23.43%

Loan amount

$5,000-$100,000

Min. credit score

None
Get rate

on SoFi's website

Our pick for

Home improvement loans

Lightstream
Get rate

on LightStream's website

LightStream

5.0

NerdWallet rating 
Lightstream

Est. APR

6.99-22.49%

Loan amount

$5,000-$100,000

Min. credit score

660
Get rate

on LightStream's website

Our pick for

Personal loans for short credit history

Upstart
Get rate

on Upstart's website

Upstart

4.5

NerdWallet rating 
Upstart

Est. APR

5.42-35.99%

Loan amount

$1,000-$50,000

Min. credit score

None
Get rate

on Upstart's website

Our pick for

Personal loans for fair credit

Upgrade
Get rate

on Upgrade's website

Upgrade

5.0

NerdWallet rating 
Upgrade

Est. APR

7.96-35.97%

Loan amount

$1,000-$50,000

Min. credit score

560
Get rate

on Upgrade's website

Our pick for

Secured personal loans

BestEgg
Get rate

on Best Egg's website

Best Egg

4.5

NerdWallet rating 
BestEgg

Est. APR

8.99-35.99%

Loan amount

$2,000-$50,000

Min. credit score

600
Get rate

on Best Egg's website

Our pick for

Bank loans

Marcus by Goldman Sachs
Get rate

on Goldman Sachs' website

Marcus by Goldman Sachs

5.0

NerdWallet rating 
Marcus by Goldman Sachs

Est. APR

6.99-24.99%

Loan amount

$3,500-$40,000

Min. credit score

740
Get rate

on Goldman Sachs' website

Our pick for

Personal loans for bad credit

Universal Credit
Get rate

on Universal Credit's website

Universal Credit

4.5

NerdWallet rating 
Universal Credit

Est. APR

11.69-35.93%

Loan amount

$1,000-$50,000

Min. credit score

560
Get rate

on Universal Credit's website

Our pick for

Debt consolidation loans

Discover
Get rate

on Discover's website

Discover® Personal Loans

5.0

NerdWallet rating 
Discover

Est. APR

6.99-24.99%

Loan amount

$2,500-$35,000

Min. credit score

660
Get rate

on Discover's website

What is a personal loan?

A personal loan is money borrowed from a bank, credit union or online lender that you repay in equal monthly installments, usually over two to seven years.

Personal loans are typically unsecured, which means they don’t require collateral. Lenders instead consider your credit profile, income and debts during the loan approval process. If you fail to repay the loan, your credit can take a hit.

When should I get a personal loan?

A NerdWallet survey published in October 2022 revealed that nearly one-quarter of Americans (24%) took out a personal loan within the past 12 months, borrowing on average $5,046.

Personal loan funds can be used for almost any purpose, but taking a loan makes the most sense when:

  • It’s the least expensive form of financing.

  • It’s used for something with the potential to increase your financial standing, like debt consolidation or home improvements.

  • You can manage the monthly payments without stressing your budget.

In contrast, a personal loan used for events like a wedding, or discretionary expenses like a vacation, can be expensive. NerdWallet recommends using savings for nonessentials to avoid finance charges.

If you're borrowing for emergency or medical expenses, consider less-expensive alternatives first, such as community assistance or payment plans.

Personal loan interest rates and fees

Personal loan interest rates vary by lender, and the rate you receive depends on factors like your credit score, income and debt-to-income ratio.

Borrowers with high credit scores generally receive lower rates, from about 11% to 15%, while those with low credit scores may get an APR around 25%. Here’s what interest rates on personal loans look like, on average:

How's your credit?

Score range

Estimated APR

Excellent

720-850.

10.6%.

Good

690-719.

15.7%.

Fair

630-689.

19.4%.

Bad

300-629.

25.2%.

Source: Average rates are based on aggregate, anonymized offer data from users who pre-qualified in NerdWallet’s lender marketplace from March 1, 2022, to Aug. 31, 2022. Rates are estimates only and not specific to any lender. The lowest credit scores — usually below a 500 credit score — are unlikely to qualify. Information in this table applies only to lenders with APRs below 36%.

Some lenders charge origination fees to cover the cost of processing the loan. Lenders deduct the fee from the loan proceeds or roll it into the balance. This one-time, upfront fee is included in the loan’s annual percentage rate, so consider this when comparing costs between lenders.

Other fees to watch out for include late fees, insufficient funds fees and prepayment fees, which are penalties for paying off your loan early.

Best place to get a personal loan

You can get a personal loan from online lenders, banks and credit unions. The best option depends on where you can get the rate, terms and features that fit your financial situation.

For example, if a fast and convenient loan application is important to you, then consider an online lender. On the other hand, if lower rates and in-person support matter, then a bank loan or credit union loan could be the better option.

Pros and cons of personal loans

Depending on your financial situation and the loan’s purpose, a personal loan can be the right move or one you should sidestep.

Pros

Lower starting APRs than credit cards. For consumers with strong credit, personal loans typically have lower APRs than credit cards. While some credit cards offer 0% interest during an introductory period, the rates are generally higher after the period ends.

Fixed rates and monthly payments. Personal loans have fixed rates and monthly payments over a set term, so you always know what you owe and for how long. Other financing options like home equity lines of credit have variable rates that can mean fluctuating monthly payments.

Flexible loan amounts. Depending on the lender and your creditworthiness, you may have access to personal loan amounts of $1,000 to $100,000. This range meets a wide variety of expenses, from small emergencies to large home improvement projects.

No collateral. Unlike home equity loans that require you to secure the loan with your house, unsecured personal loans don’t require collateral. You risk damaging your credit if you can’t repay, but you won't lose any assets.

Cons

Maximum APRs can be high. If you have a low credit score, APRs on personal loans can be higher than credit card APRs.

Possible fees. Borrowers may have to pay fees — like origination or late fees — along with their loan payments.

Increase in debt. Taking a personal loan adds debt to your budget, so it's important to factor in the additional obligation and feel comfortable about paying it off.

Summary of personal loan pros and cons

Pros

Cons

  • Lower starting APRs than credit cards.

  • Fixed rates and monthly payments.

  • Flexible loan amounts.

  • No collateral is needed.

  • Maximum APRs can be high.

  • Fees are possible, depending on the lender.

  • Increases the debt you owe.

How to choose the best personal loan

Here are things to consider as you shop around and compare personal loans.

Soft credit check. Most online lenders let you check your estimated interest rate by performing a soft check of your credit during pre-qualification. This won’t affect your credit score, so it pays to take the steps to pre-qualify for a loan with multiple lenders and compare rates and loan features.

Annual percentage rates. Because APRs include interest rates and fees, they offer an apples-to-apples cost comparison for borrowers deciding between personal loan offers. Use our personal loan calculator to see estimated rates and payments based on credit scores.

Repayment terms. Having a wide variety of repayment term options gives you the option to get a shorter term and pay less interest or a longer term and have a low monthly payment. Based on your budget, one may make more financial sense than the other.

Loan amount. Depending on how much money you need, one lender could be more attractive than another. Some lenders offer small to midsize loan amounts, like $2,000 to $40,000, while others provide loans up to $100,000. Determining the amount you need ahead of time will help you compare and decide.

Special features. You may benefit from features like autopay rate discounts, unemployment protection or financial coaching. See if the lender you’re considering offers any perks that could help you reach your financial goals.

Next step: Pre-qualify for a personal loan

You can pre-qualify on NerdWallet and see rates from lenders that partner with us. Pre-qualifying triggers a soft credit check, which doesn't impact your score.

After you compare offers and select a loan with the lowest rate and payments that fit your budget, you'll formally apply for the loan.

The loan application may require additional personal information, including employment status and education history. You may also need to authorize the lender to pull your credit reports and verify your income.

Your first loan payment is usually due within 30 days of loan approval and funding.

Explore loans and lenders in each of these categories:

See other uses for personal loans:

Last updated on December 1, 2022

Methodology

NerdWallet’s review process evaluates and rates personal loan products from more than 35 financial institutions. We collect over 45 data points from each lender, interview company representatives and compare the lender with others that seek the same customer or offer a similar personal loan product. NerdWallet writers and editors conduct a full fact check and update annually, but also make updates throughout the year as necessary.

Our star ratings award points to lenders that offer consumer-friendly features, including: soft credit checks to pre-qualify, competitive interest rates and no fees, transparency of rates and terms, flexible payment options, fast funding times, accessible customer service, reporting of payments to credit bureaus and financial education. We also consider regulatory actions filed by agencies like the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. We weigh these factors based on our assessment of which are the most important to consumers and how meaningfully they impact consumers’ experiences.

This methodology applies only to lenders that cap interest rates at 36%, the maximum rate most financial experts and consumer advocates agree is the acceptable limit for a loan to be affordable. NerdWallet does not receive compensation for our star ratings. Read more about our ratings methodologies for personal loans and our editorial guidelines.

To recap our selections...

NerdWallet's Best Personal Loans of December 2022

Frequently asked questions