If you’re looking for cheap car insurance in Florida, comparison shopping is key. Rates for the same coverage options differ from one company to the next and are based on personal factors such as your age, driving record and credit history.
To help simplify things, NerdWallet researched rates from the seven largest insurers in Florida and found the cheapest choices for several driver groups. We also have information on SR-22s and FR-44s in Florida, minimum coverage requirements, and no-fault laws in the Sunshine State.
Cheapest for good drivers in Florida
For good drivers with good credit, these are the cheapest car insurance companies we found, ranked by average rate:
- State Farm: $1,914 per year.
- Geico: $2,102 per year.
- Liberty Mutual: $2,306 per year.
- Esurance: $2,662 per year.
- Allstate: $3,275 per year.
The average car insurance rate overall for good drivers in Florida was $2,411 per year, or $201 per month.Drivers with no recent accidents or violations can get cheaper car insurance rates for having good credit. For this calculation, NerdWallet averaged rates for 40-year-old men and women with a clean driving record and good credit. In terms of driving and credit history, a large portion of drivers are closest to this profile, which carries standard "full coverage" insurance, including comprehensive and collision, along with state-required coverage. Prices shown include a good driver discount, when available from the insurer.
Cheapest for drivers with poor credit
The cheapest insurers for good drivers with poor credit in Florida, and their average rates, are:
- Liberty Mutual: $3,362 per year.
- State Farm: $3,396 per year.
- Geico: $4,064 per year.
- Esurance: $4,628 per year.
- Allstate: $5,792 per year.
In Florida the average price for good drivers with poor credit was $4,403 per year, or about $367 per month.If you have a spotty credit history, it's important to shop around to find the cheapest auto insurance rates you can. Poor credit can have a bigger effect on car insurance premiums than even a DUI conviction or a recent at-fault crash, but prices vary by insurer. To calculate these figures, NerdWallet averaged rates for 40-year-olds with a clean driving record and associated good driver discount, if the insurer offered one. They had poor credit as reported to their insurer, and standard "full coverage" car insurance.
Cheapest for drivers with one at-fault crash
For Florida drivers with a recent wreck on their records, these are the cheapest companies we found for car insurance, and their average rates:
- State Farm: $2,223 per year.
- Geico: $2,703 per year.
- Liberty Mutual: $2,795 per year.
- Esurance: $4,571 per year.
- Allstate: $5,034 per year.
The annual average price in Florida for drivers with a recent at-fault crash was $3,597 in our analysis, or about $300 per month.After a relatively minor crash, some auto insurers will charge a lot more than others for coverage. To get these figures, we averaged rates for 40-year-olds with typical "full coverage" insurance and one recent at-fault crash costing $10,000 in property damage. Your rates will remain high for three to five years after you cause an accident or have a moving violation. If you fall into this category, be sure to shop for new insurance rates just after the three-year and five-year anniversaries of your infraction.
Cheapest for low-mileage drivers
Floridians who don’t drive much may find the best rates with the following companies, ranked by their average rates.
- State Farm: $1,656 per year.
- Geico: $1,921 per year.
- Liberty Mutual: $2,042 per year.
- Esurance: $2,663 per year.
- Allstate: $3,023 per year.
On average, low-mileage drivers in Florida see an annual auto insurance rate of $2,266 per year, which works out to about $189 per month.The less you drive, the less likely you are to cause a crash and file an auto insurance claim. Whether you're retired, work at home or often use public transportation, you may be able to get cheaper car insurance simply because you drive less. The rates above are for 40-year-olds with typical "full coverage" insurance and a clean driving record who drive 5,000 miles per year instead of the standard 12,000.
Cheapest for minimum coverage in Florida
For bare-bones auto coverage in Florida, these are the companies that returned the cheapest average rates:
- Geico: $812 per year.
- State Farm: $928 per year.
- Liberty Mutual: $970 per year.
- Allstate: $1,516 per year.
- Progressive: $1,655 per year.
The average rate for a Florida driver with minimum coverage car insurance was $1,126 per year, or about $94 per month.We calculated these numbers by averaging rates for 40-year-old good drivers (earning them a discount if the insurer offers one) who have only the minimum mandatory insurance in their state. Such light coverage isn't typically recommended, since it might not cover all the bills resulting from a car accident, but it's better than nothing — especially if you can't afford much more. If you're looking for the cheapest possible insurance you can get, though, you'll still want to get quotes from at least three auto insurers.
These are sample rates, but yours will be unique to you — meaning the cheapest for you could be a different company than those listed here. To learn more about these or other auto insurance companies, check out NerdWallet’s auto insurance reviews.
Cheapest for military families
If you’re an active member of the military or a veteran — or have an immediate family member who is — chances are you’ll get a very good rate with USAA, an option that isn’t available to the public. USAA was by far the cheapest option for every category above, except drivers with poor credit. The insurer also has had historically top-rated customer service.
Recap: Cheapest car insurance in Florida
|Good drivers||State Farm|
|Drivers with poor credit||Liberty Mutual|
|Drivers with one at-fault crash||State Farm|
|Low-mileage drivers||State Farm|
|Minimum coverage in Florida||Geico|
|Drivers with a military connection||USAA|
Minimum car insurance requirements in Florida
Floridians must carry property damage liability and personal injury protection (PIP) in the following amounts:
- $10,000 property damage liability per accident.
- $10,000 personal injury protection.
In case you’re at fault in a crash, the Florida Financial Responsibility Law also requires you to be able to pay up to:
- $10,000 in bodily injury liability per person.
- $20,000 in bodily injury liability per accident.
Experts recommend buying more than the bare minimum when it comes to all parts of your auto liability insurance. You might want added protection from optional coverages such as collision, comprehensive and uninsured motorist insurance.
Check out NerdWallet’s guide to car insurance requirements by state for more details on coverage you might want on your Florida auto policy.
SR-22, FR-44 and alternative auto insurance in Florida
Drivers convicted of certain offenses may be required to get an SR-22 filed by their insurance company with the state of Florida. There’s no such thing as “SR-22 insurance”; instead, an SR-22 is a form certifying you have current auto insurance coverage in compliance with Florida law. An SR-22 might be required if you:
- Got in an accident without insurance.
- Had your license suspended due to too many points or another reason.
- Have severe and recent traffic violations on record.
And if you get caught driving while intoxicated or under the influence of drugs in Florida, another form, an FR-44, may be required instead. Again, “FR-44 insurance” isn’t actually a type of insurance. Rather, an auto insurer must file an FR-44 certificate on behalf of someone convicted of a DUI or similar offenses.
Compared with an SR-22, an FR-44 comes with additional liability insurance requirements. Instead of the relatively low liability limits listed above, you’d need at least:
- $100,000 for injury or death to one person.
- $300,000 for injury or death of two or more people.
- $50,000 for property damage liability.
Sunshine State drivers who’ve been denied car insurance because of a spotty driving history or other factors can apply for coverage through the Florida Automobile Joint Underwriting Association.
For more help finding cheap car insurance in Florida, try NerdWallet’s car insurance quote comparison tool.
No-fault insurance in Florida
Florida is one of several states that has a no-fault car insurance system, but it’s one of only two that doesn’t require any bodily injury liability coverage.
In most states, drivers who are injured in a car accident caused by someone else will seek reimbursement from the at-fault motorist’s insurance company. The claim and payout come from that person’s bodily injury liability coverage.
Under Florida’s no-fault statute, all parties involved in a crash first make injury claims to their own PIP coverage. If injuries from the accident are considered “serious” under Florida law, the at-fault driver’s bodily injury liability pays for additional costs. Serious injuries include at least one of the following:
- Significant disfigurement.
- Bone fracture.
- Permanent limitation of a body organ or member.
- Significant limitation of a body function or system.
- Substantially full disability for 90 days.
Injuries that meet this definition are grounds for a lawsuit in Florida. Drivers with bodily injury coverage can use it to pay for legal fees as well as the injured person’s medical costs, but anyone with only the minimum required coverage — that is, no bodily injury coverage — would have to pay out-of-pocket if they were at fault.
To complicate things further, drivers can also be partially at fault for a crash. Florida has a “comparative fault” statute, meaning that two drivers can share responsibility for an incident. In a lawsuit, a jury could assign 30% of the responsibility to the injured driver, who would then be entitled to only 70% of the total damages from the other driver.
Insurance companies don’t just absorb those costs. As in many states that require personal injury protection coverage, drivers in Florida tend to pay more for car insurance, on average, compared with those in non-PIP states.
How PIP works in Florida
Drivers in Florida are required to carry at least $10,000 of PIP, which is also called Florida no-fault insurance.
In addition to medical bills, no-fault insurance in Florida can also pay:
- Lost wages if crash-related injuries force you to miss work.
- The cost of hiring in-home care if you need help due to injuries.
- The cost of equipment you need while recovering, such as a wheelchair.
- Funeral costs.
PIP fraud can be common in no-fault states, including Florida, where staged accidents and unscrupulous medical providers can drive up the cost of insurance, specifically PIP. Because of this, a new no-fault insurance law was enacted in 2015, statute 627.736. It requires people injured in a crash to see a medical professional within 14 days of the incident to make a PIP claim. It also limits payouts to 80% of “reasonable” medical expenses as outlined in the statute.
Note that PIP will also cover your passengers’ injuries, but it doesn’t cover damage to your car. You go through the at-fault driver’s insurance for vehicle repairs or through your own collision coverage if you were responsible.
» MORE: PIP coverage in no-fault states
For our base-profile driver with good credit and a clean driving history, NerdWallet averaged rates from the largest insurers for 40-year-old men and women in 20 ZIP codes. The policy includes:
- $100,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person.
- $300,000 bodily injury liability coverage per crash.
- $50,000 property damage liability coverage per crash.
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage per person.
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage per crash.
- $10,000 personal injury protection.
- Collision coverage with $1,000 deductible.
- Comprehensive coverage with $1,000 deductible.
We used the same assumptions for all other driver profiles, with the following exceptions:
- For drivers with poor credit, we adjusted the credit tier from “good” to “poor.”
- For drivers with one at-fault crash, we added a single at-fault crash.
- For low-mileage drivers, we adjusted the miles driven from 12,000 per year to 5,000.
- For drivers with minimum coverage, we adjusted the numbers above to reflect minimum required coverage by law in the state.
We used a 2015 Toyota Camry in all cases. These are rates generated through Quadrant Information Services. Your own rates will be different.