CommonBond Exits the Student Loan Business

CommonBond ended its student loan program on June 1, 2022.
Jun 2, 2022

Many or all of the products featured here are from our partners who compensate us. This may influence which products we write about and where and how the product appears on a page. However, this does not influence our evaluations. Our opinions are our own. Here is a list of our partners and here's how we make money.

Forbearance ends Dec. 31, 2022
Federal student loan payments restart in January 2023. Consider all options before you refi.

CommonBond stopped offering student loans in April 2022 and ended its student loan refinance program in May 2022. Now, CommonBond focuses only on loans for solar panels.

The lender will continue to support its existing borrowers and said it will process open student loan refinance applications until June 1, 2022.

Historically, CommonBond offered student loans to borrowers pursuing bachelor's degrees with a qualified co-signer. Its student loan refinancing was available to borrowers with at least a bachelor's degree. It allowed them to funnel the money saved by refinancing into a high-yield savings account via the CommonBond SmartSave program. The company did not offer loans to borrowers in Mississippi or Nevada.

Personalized service and repayment flexibility were differentiators for CommonBond. For example, those who qualified for a CommonBond student loan could benefit from a dedicated advisor, termed a Money Mentor. In addition, borrowers who refinanced their loans with CommonBond were eligible for up to 24 months of forbearance in three-month increments.

Its parent student loan refinancing product was a repeat winner in NerdWallet's annual Best-Of Awards, as it allowed borrowers to refinance (in their own name) a student loan their parent took out on their behalf.

What now?

Compare offers from several lenders to get the best offer available for you.

If you’re looking for student loans, consider these lenders:

College Ave Private Student Loan
Earnest Private Student Loan
SoFi Private Student Loan
NerdWallet rating 
NerdWallet rating 
NerdWallet rating 
Check RateCheck RateCheck Rate
Fixed APR

3.22-13.95%

Fixed APR

3.22-13.24%

Fixed APR

3.75-13.60%

Variable APR

2.49-13.85%

Variable APR

2.55-11.44%

Variable APR

2.99-12.13%

Min. credit score

Mid-600s

Min. credit score

650

Min. credit score

Mid-600s

Or compare student loan lenders by category:

If you're looking to refinance your student loans, use our student loan refinance calculator to compare lenders and find the right one for you:

Or compare student loan refinance lenders by category:

Spot your saving opportunities
See your spending breakdown to show your top spending trends and where you can cut back.