Best of

Personal Loans for Good Credit: Best of 2024

The best personal loans for good credit have low fixed interest rates and flexible features. Compare loan offers from multiple lenders before you choose.

Ronita Choudhuri-Wade
By
Last updated on April 2, 2024
Edited by
✅ Fact checked and reviewed
Kim Lowe
Edited by
✅ Fact checked and reviewed

Many or all of the products featured here are from our partners who compensate us. This may influence which products we write about and where and how the product appears on a page. However, this does not influence our evaluations. Our opinions are our own. Here is a list of our partners and here's how we make money.

  • 35+ personal loans reviewed and rated by our team of experts.
  • 20+ years of combined experience covering personal loans and financial topics.
  • Objective, comprehensive star rating system assessing 20+ categories and 70+ data points.
  • Governed by NerdWallet's strict guidelines for editorial integrity.
NerdWallet's personal loans content, including articles, reviews and recommendations, is produced by a team of writers and editors who specialize in consumer lending. Their work has appeared in The Associated Press, USA Today, The New York Times, MarketWatch and many other national, regional and local publications. They have been cited in publications including The Harvard Kennedy School, and appeared on NerdWallet's "Smart Money" podcast as well as local TV and radio.

Limited-Time Offer

EXCLUSIVE OFFER
AD
Don't miss out on a better rate

Get a 0.50% discount on your next loan from SoFi, NerdWallet's 2024 Best Personal Loan winner. Offer expires 4/30/24. Click on "View details" for offer terms*.

SoFi

SoFi Personal Loan

SoFi
5.0
NerdWallet rating
Est. APR
8.99-29.99%
Get a 0.50% discountLimited-time offer
Loan amount
$5K-$100K
Min. credit score
None
on SoFi's website
View details

Personal Loans for Good Credit: Best

Lender
NerdWallet Rating
Est. APR
Loan amount
Min. credit score
Learn more
Lightstream

LightStream

+ 300 recent visits by
NerdWallet users
Visit Lender
on LightStream's website
on LightStream's website
Check Rate
on NerdWallet
on NerdWallet
Rate discount

6.99-25.49%

$5,000-$100,000

660

+ 300 recent visits by
NerdWallet users

Limited-Time Offer

SoFi

SoFi Personal Loan

+ 400 recent visits by
NerdWallet users
Read Review
on NerdWallet
on NerdWallet
5.0
/5
Best for Good credit and high loan amounts
Rate discount

8.99-29.99%

Get a 0.50% discountLimited-time offer

$5,000-$100,000

None

+ 400 recent visits by
NerdWallet users
Discover

Discover® Personal Loans

+ 300 recent visits by
NerdWallet users
5.0
/5
Best for Good credit and low rates
Fast funding

7.99-24.99%

$2,500-$40,000

660

+ 300 recent visits by
NerdWallet users
Lending Club

LendingClub

Check Rate
on NerdWallet
on NerdWallet
4.5
/5
Best for Good credit and small loan amounts
Flexible payments

8.98-35.99%

$1,000-$40,000

600

Achieve

Achieve Personal Loans

4.5
/5
Best for Good credit and multiple rate discounts
Rate discount

8.99-35.99%

$5,000-$50,000

620

Happy Money

Happy Money

4.5
/5
Best for Good credit and credit card consolidation
Fast funding

11.72-17.99%

$5,000-$40,000

640

First Tech Credit Union Personal Loan

First Tech Credit Union Personal Loan

5.0
/5
Best for Good credit and joint loans

8.99-18.00%

$500-$50,000

660

BestEgg

Best Egg

4.5
/5
Best for Good credit and secured loans
Secured loans
Wide range of loan amounts

8.99-35.99%

$2,000-$50,000

600

Explore all of our lender picks by category

Our pick for

Good credit and small loan amounts

Lending Club
Check Rate
on NerdWallet
on NerdWallet
Lending Club

LendingClub

4.5
Est. APR

8.98-35.99%

Loan amount

$1,000-$40,000

Min. credit score

600

Our pick for

Good credit and multiple rate discounts

Achieve
Achieve

Achieve Personal Loans

Est. APR

8.99-35.99%

Loan amount

$5,000-$50,000

Min. credit score

620

Our pick for

Good credit and credit card consolidation

Happy Money
Happy Money

Happy Money

Est. APR

11.72-17.99%

Loan amount

$5,000-$40,000

Min. credit score

640

Our pick for

Good credit and joint loans

First Tech Credit Union Personal Loan
First Tech Credit Union Personal Loan

First Tech Credit Union Personal Loan

Est. APR

8.99-18.00%

Loan amount

$500-$50,000

Min. credit score

660

Our pick for

Good credit and fast funding

Our pick for

Good credit and high loan amounts

Limited-Time Offer

EXCLUSIVE OFFER
AD
Don't miss out on a better rate

Get a 0.50% discount on your next loan from SoFi, NerdWallet's 2024 Best Personal Loan winner. Offer expires 4/30/24. Click on "View details" for offer terms*.

SoFi
Read Review
on NerdWallet
on NerdWallet
SoFi

SoFi Personal Loan

Est. APR

8.99-29.99%

Get a 0.50% discountLimited-time offer
Loan amount

$5,000-$100,000

Min. credit score

None

Our pick for

Good credit and low rates

Discover
Discover

Discover® Personal Loans

Est. APR

7.99-24.99%

Loan amount

$2,500-$40,000

Min. credit score

660

Our pick for

Good credit and secured loans

BestEgg
BestEgg

Best Egg

Est. APR

8.99-35.99%

Loan amount

$2,000-$50,000

Min. credit score

600

NerdWallet's guide to good-credit personal loans

A good credit score often means lower annual percentage rates and more favorable terms on personal loans. Most loans are unsecured, meaning you don't have to put up collateral like your car or savings; instead, lenders evaluate applicants' ability to repay by considering factors like credit, debt and income.

This guide will help you compare and choose the best personal loans for good credit.

How to choose a personal loan

A good credit score could get you loan offers from multiple lenders. Consider these factors to choose the right loan for your plans:

Compare rates across lenders: If you’re someone with either good or excellent credit, it pays to shop for the best combination of low rates and fees. Most online lenders let you pre-qualify to check rates without affecting your credit.

Loan amount: The amount of money you could receive with a personal loan ranges from about $1,000 to $50,000, though some lenders offer up to $100,000. The amount you request from a lender may factor into their decision to qualify you, so carefully consider how much you need.

Loan purpose: A benefit of personal loans is you can use the money for almost any reason. Common uses are to pay off high-interest credit cards or for home improvements, and rates can vary based on the loan purpose.

Loan term: Personal loans generally have terms from two to seven years, though some lenders offer extended terms for specific purposes like home improvement. A shorter loan term means you'll pay less total interest on the loan; a longer term lowers your monthly payments.

Loan features: Some lenders have mobile apps where you can track your loan and manage monthly payments. Others offer flexible payment schedules or payment assistance programs. If you’re consolidating your debt, some lenders will send your loan proceeds directly to your creditors, saving you an important step in paying off debt.

Additional benefits: Take advantage of benefits like free credit score monitoring and financial planning resources that your lender may offer.

What are rates on good-credit loans?

The APR you receive on a personal loan depends significantly on your credit score. The better your score, the lower your rate and the less interest you'll pay over the life of the loan.

The interest rate also affects your total monthly payment. Use our personal loan calculator to estimate your monthly payments based on your credit score.

Here is what interest rates on personal loans look like, on average:

Borrower credit rating

Score range

Estimated APR

Excellent

720-850.

12.64%

Good

690-719.

14.84%

Fair

630-689.

18.69%.

Bad

300-629.

21.74%.

Source: Average rates are based on aggregate, anonymized offer data from users who pre-qualified through NerdWallet from March 1, 2024, through March 31, 2024. Rates are estimates only and not specific to any lender. The lowest credit scores — usually below 500 — are unlikely to qualify. Information in this table applies only to lenders with maximum APRs below 36%.

Where to get a personal loan with good credit

Good-credit borrowers can get a personal loan from online lenders, credit unions or banks.

Online lenders

An online lender will let you pre-qualify, apply and manage the loan from your computer or phone. Good- and excellent-credit borrowers tend to get the best rates and features, so pre-qualifying with multiple lenders and comparing offers is a good idea.

Credit unions

Local or national credit unions may offer lower interest rates and more flexible terms than other lenders. You typically have to be a member to borrow from a credit union.

Banks

Banks offer personal loans to existing account holders, often at low rates. Bank customers can also benefit from rate discounts and a streamlined online application process.

Next step: Pre-qualify for a personal loan

You can pre-qualify on NerdWallet and compare offers from lenders that partner with us. Pre-qualifying will not affect your credit score.

PRE-QUALIFY ON NERDWALLET

Last updated on April 2, 2024

Methodology

NerdWallet’s review process evaluates and rates personal loan products from more than 35 technology companies and financial institutions. We collect over 50 data points from each lender and cross-check company websites, earnings reports and other public documents to confirm product details. We may also go through a lender’s pre-qualification flow and follow up with company representatives. NerdWallet writers and editors conduct a full fact check and update annually, but also make updates throughout the year as necessary.

Our star ratings award points to lenders that offer consumer-friendly features, including: soft credit checks to pre-qualify, competitive interest rates and no fees, transparency of rates and terms, flexible payment options, fast funding times, accessible customer service, reporting of payments to credit bureaus and financial education. Our ratings award fewer points to lenders with practices that may make a loan difficult to repay on time, such as charging high annual percentage rates (above 36%), underwriting that does not adequately assess consumers’ ability to repay and lack of credit-building help. We also consider regulatory actions filed by agencies like the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. We weigh these factors based on our assessment of which are the most important to consumers and how meaningfully they impact consumers’ experiences.

NerdWallet does not receive compensation for our star ratings. Read more about our ratings methodologies for personal loans and our editorial guidelines.

To recap our selections...

NerdWallet's Personal Loans for Good Credit: Best of 2024

  • LendingClub: Best for Good credit and small loan amounts
  • Achieve Personal Loans: Best for Good credit and multiple rate discounts
  • Happy Money: Best for Good credit and credit card consolidation
  • First Tech Credit Union Personal Loan: Best for Good credit and joint loans
  • LightStream: Best for Good credit and fast funding
  • SoFi Personal Loan: Best for Good credit and high loan amounts
  • Discover® Personal Loans: Best for Good credit and low rates
  • Best Egg: Best for Good credit and secured loans

Frequently asked questions

  • Good credit scores on the FICO credit scale are between 690 and 719. The credit score you need for a personal loan can vary by lender and the reason you're borrowing. The best personal loan rates and terms are reserved for those with good and excellent credit.

  • Lenders favor borrowers with good and excellent credit scores (above 689). Lenders also consider your debt-to-income ratio on a loan application. When you're ready to apply for a personal loan, compare multiple lenders and pre-qualify to make sure you're getting the best rates and terms available.

NerdWallet Pixel