Advertiser Disclosure

Currency and Coins: Which Presidents Are on U.S. Money?

Many or all of the products featured here are from our partners who compensate us. This may influence which products we write about and where and how the product appears on a page. However, this does not influence our evaluations. Our opinions are our own.

Presidents dominate our paper currency and our coins as well. It wasn’t always this way, at least for coins. Twentieth-century designs include the Mercury dime, the buffalo nickel and the Indian-head penny, among others. Today, presidents rule — though one recent exception is our dollar coins.

The Resource Center says, “Our records do not suggest why certain Presidents and statesmen were chosen for specific denominations.”  Is that really so? We look into their likely reasoning in our infographic.

NerdWallet breaks down which presidents are featured on U.S. currency — including small bills, coins, and rare denominations — and why. But changes are coming: The U.S. Treasury announced on April 20, 2016 that the front of the $20 bill will feature Harriet Tubman on the front, with Andrew Jackson and an image of the White House on the back. The new $5 and $10 bills will feature women and civil rights leaders on the back. The designs will be unveiled in 2020, but the circulation date has yet to be released.

Click the graphic twice to expand.

This article was updated April 21, 2016. 

» Put your money to work: How to invest money