How Much Does a DUI Cost?

Car insurance rates can double for years after a DUI, and the cost of legal fees and lost wages can add up.

Barbara MarquandFebruary 4, 2016

Many or all of the products featured here are from our partners who compensate us. This may influence which products we write about and where and how the product appears on a page. However, this does not influence our evaluations. Our opinions are our own.

Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is dangerous to you and everyone else on the road. Even if you don’t crash your car, getting arrested for a DUI could cost you thousands of dollars in legal fees and other costs. You'll pay more for car insurance after a DUI for years, too.

“A $20 drink tab can turn into $10,000 down the drain,” says defense attorney Kevin Smith, a partner at Pattis & Smith in New Haven, Connecticut.

A DUI produces both explicit and hidden costs, Smith says. The total will vary depending on the defendant, jurisdiction and requirements imposed by the court or state law.

The cost of a DUI

Here are some of the costs you could face after a drunk driving arrest:

Bond: You could be released on your own recognizance, or you might have to post bond. In Connecticut where Smith practices, he says, the bond typically ranges from $500 to $2,000. The defendant must pay at least 10% of the bond amount to be released.

Attorney: The cost of a DUI attorney varies depending on the seriousness of the case and the jurisdiction, but generally starts at about $1,000 for the simplest cases. Your attorney’s bill will be on the low end if you qualify for a diversion program, which sets aside charges for first offenders who complete certain requirements, such as alcohol education or community service hours.

If the case goes to trial, you’ll pay a lot more. Defense attorney Larry Forman of Louisville, Kentucky, says he would typically charge $5,000 to $7,500 for a DUI trial. In some states, such as New Jersey and Florida, similar services would range from $8,000 to $10,000, he estimates.

Court fees and fines: The attorney’s bill doesn’t include fees and fines levied by the court. Smith says those could range from $200 to $2,000.

Ignition interlock: In some states you may have to get an ignition interlock installed to regain driving privileges. The device is wired to the vehicle’s ignition system, and the driver must blow into the device before starting the car. If alcohol is detected on the driver's breath, the car won’t start. Smith says that in Connecticut, a driver would pay a $200 installation fee plus about $60 every three months for maintenance.

Diversion program: This isn’t a get-out-of-jail-free program; you have to pay to participate. The cost is usually a few hundred dollars. For example, the program fee in Jefferson County, Kentucky, where Forman practices, is $300.

License reinstatement fees: Your license will be suspended after a DUI arrest, and you’ll have to pay to get it reinstated. Fees vary widely by state, but they can be significant. In Minnesota, for example, the reinstatement fee after an alcohol-related suspension is $680.

Lost wages: In many cases a DUI conviction means jail time. Even without jail time, drivers arrested for DUI face license suspension and time in court, both of which can lead to lost wages.

DUI car insurance rates

Your car insurance rates could double after a DUI, and your rates are likely to remain high for at least a few years. NerdWallet compared quotes for 25- and 50-year-old drivers with a DUI and with clean records among three big insurers in California, Florida and New York.

A DUI led to the biggest price jumps in California, where the average premium from the three companies more than doubled.


Average good driver

Average DUI driver










Your rates will take a decade to recover; according to California law, a driver loses eligibility for a good driver discount for 10 years after a DUI conviction.

You likely will be required to have an SR-22 filed on your behalf with the California Department of Motor Vehicles for the first three years after a DUI. The form proves that you have the minimum amount of liability coverage. Insurers typically charge a processing fee of about $25 to file the form for you.


Average good driver

Average DUI driver










In Florida, not only will you pay higher premiums for coverage, you’ll have to purchase more of it. The state boosts the car insurance liability requirements for drivers with DUI convictions to $100,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person, $300,000 of bodily injury liability per accident and $50,000 of property damage liability insurance for three years. Other drivers are required to purchase only $10,000 of property damage liability and $10,000 of personal injury protection insurance.

You also will have to ask the insurance company to file an FR-44 form with the state to prove you have the boosted amount of coverage.

New York is among several states that do not require drivers with DUIs to have financial responsibility forms filed on their behalf. But you’ll still pay more for coverage after a DUI.


Average good driver

Average DUI driver










What happens if you escape conviction? That’s good news legally, but you might not be off the hook when it comes to higher car insurance rates. Smith says a DUI arrest alone could still lead to a rate increase if the alcohol-related license suspension shows up on your driving record.

Keep in mind that rates vary widely among carriers, whether you have a clean record or a DUI. Don’t let embarrassment over a DUI arrest keep you from shopping for the best-priced coverage. NerdWallet’s car insurance comparison tool can help you get started.

The next time you need a ride after drinking, call a friend or a cab.

“A $10 or even $100 taxi ride is a whole lot cheaper than the ride you’ll take through the system,” Smith says.


We averaged car insurance quotes in 10 ZIP codes in California, Florida and New York from Allstate, Geico and State Farm for 25-year-old and 50-year-old men and women drivers of a 2010 Honda Accord. In each state, the quotes are for the same amount of coverage for good drivers and drivers with a DUI. In California and New York the quotes are for $25,000 of bodily injury liability per person, $50,000 of bodily injury liability per accident and $25,000 of property damage liability.

In Florida the quotes are for $100,000 of bodily injury liability per person, $300,000 of bodily injury liability per accident and $50,000 of property damage liability.

New York quotes include $50,000 of personal injury protection, and Florida quotes include $10,000 of personal injury protection. All quotes include uninsured motorist coverage equal to the bodily injury liability limits and collision and comprehensive insurance with a $500 deductible.

We want to hear from you and encourage a lively discussion among our users. Please help us keep our site clean and safe by following our posting guidelines, and avoid disclosing personal or sensitive information such as bank account or phone numbers. Any comments posted under NerdWallet’s official account are not reviewed or endorsed by representatives of financial institutions affiliated with the reviewed products, unless explicitly stated otherwise.